Blog · Books · Just Some Thoughts · Words that spoke to my heart

“Room in my Heart to Love”

Have you ever heard of the phrase “room in your heart“?

I think I first came across this phrase in an Enid Blyton story that I read when I was a child and the story has been stored on the shelves of my memories ever since.

DeathtoStock_NotStock9

The story was about a boy who found a lost puppy. No matter what the boy did or said, he noticed that the puppywas unhappy. The boy went to his mother and his mother said something along lines of how the puppy may be missing its original owner. The boy responded saying that he was good to the puppy, he took care of it and gave it treats, why couldn’t the dog love him too? And the mother replied saying that some dogs only have enough room in their heart to love one person. The story ended with the puppy’s original owner finding and reclaiming the puppy who joyfully ran into the owner’s arms. A signature happy ending of an Enid Blyton tale.

But what was the morale of this story? Enid Blyton’s series of books containing short stories usually have some kind of morale attached to the story. I remember stories of little boys who didn’t appreciate their mothers, dolls who were selfish, little girls who were forgetful that taught me to love my mother, be a good daughter, not be selfish, to be kind to everyone and not to be forgetful. However, I didn’t really understand what I was supposed to get out of this story about the boy and the puppy.

Back when I was small, I believe that what I got from this story was that you can’t always have what you want. But I suppose I wasn’t satisfied with that conclusion, which is why I’ve never forgotten the story till this day.

Sometimes, I feel as though I have limited room in my heart, like that puppy, to love people as well.

DeathtoStock_NotStock10

As of right now, I know that spending time with people, even those I love, really leaves me feeling drained and lacklustre. This is one of the things that leads me to conclude that I’m an introvert. I was never the kind of person that goes all out to make friends with everything single student in my class. I never bothered to make more friends than I had to. In fact, I don’t make friends unless the circumstances demand it (example: first day of school or mutual friends or when I sign up for a course without knowing anyone before hand) or unless I have an inkling that we are ‘compatible’ (friendship-wise, let’s keep romance at arms length for now) and suspect that they may be ‘kindred-spirits‘ as Anne of Green Gables would put it.

If I track my years at school, I notice that I always have a small group of friends with me. They tend to consist about three to five people and are always girls. I’ve always attended a co-educational school but after I hit about 9 years of age, I lost the courage and confidence to mix around with boys. (Before that, I think I was pretty high-strung and bossy, always ordering the boys around. Those were the days. Perhaps I’ll talk about boys in another post, if anyone’s interested.)

I don’t really know where I’m getting with this post, but I just wanted to share the thoughts that I had when I this phrase flashed across my mind a few weeks ago. What do you think? I would love to know.

 x🌻

Leave a Reply

