Blog · Books · My Favourite Things

3 Children’s Books that I Re-Read in my Twenties

There’s something very pure and satisfying about a good book that’s aimed at a younger audience. I find that these books so much more nurturing and enriching to the soul rather than just temporary entertainment. I get very annoyed when adult fiction is all about sexual attraction, greed, consequences, petty squabbles, marriage troubles and back-stabbing and I really struggle to find a good book to read sometimes. During those times, I simply fall back to old-reliable-books and if I haven’t purchased a copy of my own, I would scour the children’s section in the public library for my old favourites.

So today I want to share with you some of my eternal loves!

#1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M.Montgomery

My number one favourite has to be Anne of Green Gables by L.M.Montgomery.

It’s a classic and a must-read for everyone really. I think the series will appeal especially to young girls, but boys are welcome to try this out as well! This book is the first in the Anne Shirley series which follows Anne as she grows up on Prince Edward Island. Anne is adopted (by accident, read to find out) into the home of Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, siblings who never married. Anne has an active imagination and readers will be amazed and thoroughly entertained with her antics and thoughts. This first book will leave you wanting for more and I guarantee that you will hunt down the rest of the series to find out what happens to our dear Anne Shirley!

#2. Circle of Magic quintet by Tamora Pierce

My second favourite has got to be the Circle of Magic quintet by Tamora Pierce!

It was really difficult to choose because I honestly do love all the books by Tamora Pierce. I’ve probably read all her books at least twice. I know that I have read the Circle of Magic quintet at least four times already! The reason I picked this out of them all is because I think that this series explores a wide range of issues that children face as they grow and develop into teenagers and then into young adults. I’ll explain what I mean.

The quintet starts off with four young children, three girls (Tris, Sandry, Daja) and one boy (Briar), all from very different socio-economic backgrounds, who are discovered to have something called ambient magic.Throughout the quintet, you will read about their adventures as they learn about their magic (none of them even guessed that they had even one inch of magic in them!) and about each other. The friendship between the four young mages is something that I love to imagine can exist in real life, and reading about their adventures in a world with magic always gives me a special thrill. I think the best part is that Tamora Pierce has a way with writing that just leaves you lusting for more yet at the same time you feel satisfied with the way the story turned out.

#3. Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian

My third and final favourite is Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian, published in 1981.

This book never fails to bring tears to my eyes as I read and follow the growth of a young boy named William Beech – known also as ‘Willie’ to his overbearing mother, and simply ‘Will’ to the friends and family that he found in a countryside village. The novel is set in the start of World War II in England when children who lived in the cities were sent to the countryside to live. I’ve already mentioned that he had an overbearing mother, so you can imagine that Will had confidence issues and was more timid than mice when he arrived in the house of a gruff old man named Thoman Oakley. What I love about this story is how you can observe the growth and even feel a sense of pride when Will eventually blossoms into a more rounded and confident young boy. I’ve re-read this recently and still enjoyed it quite well. Moreover, the last time I read it, I was about 14 and couldn’t really appreciate the setting of the WWII in the story compared to now.

Well, there you have it! My three favourite children books that I still will reach for in my twenties! 

Do you have any books that you’ve read as a child and still pick up today? I would love to know and maybe try out some of your suggestions!

x🌻

Alittleyellowsunflower.wordpress.com does not lay claim over the books covers featured above. The respective covers can be found at goodreads.com (here & here) as well as here.

Leave a Reply

